New Zealand Beer Awards

The Brewers Guild of New Zealand Beer Awards is the largest and most prestigious industry awards in New Zealand. For over 13 years Brewers from across the country gather to find out which beers and breweries will be crowned champion.


About the Awards

Held annually, the Brewers Guild of New Zealand Beer Awards are held in esteem worldwide due to the reputation of all involved in judging, organising and staging the event, with a world class selection of judges from New Zealand, Australia, America and beyond.  This diversity of background and quality of judge ensures that the Awards have a huge reputation across the globe as one of the most prestigious accolades a brewer can win.


2018 Infographic New Zealand Beer Awards September 2018


Awards Advisory Committee

The Awards Advisory Committee works with the Guild and makes recommendations to ensure that the judging process is of the highest standard.

The Awards Advisory Committee Members are:

Ben Middlemiss - Otago Polytechnic, Cromwell
Brian Watson - Good George Brewing, Hamilton
Dale Cooper - Fortune Favours, Wellington
David Nicholls - Moa Brewing Company, Blenheim
Jason Bathgate - McLeods Brewery, Waipu
Kelly Ockwell - McLeods Brewery, Waipu
Leon Dawson - DB Breweries Ltd, Timaru
Tracy Banner - Sprig and Fern Brewery, Nelson


Trophy and Champion Awards

Winners of the 2019 Brewers Guild of NZ Beer Awards will be announced at the #BREWNZ19 gala dinner being held in Wellington, New Zealand on Saturday 19 October 2019.

Along with Bronze, Silver and Gold winners, the Trophy winners for each beer category are awarded.  Then towards the end of the gala dinner, the Champion Award winners are announced:

Champion New Zealand Exhibitor
Champion New Zealand Beer
Champion Small New Zealand Brewery
Champion Medium New Zealand Brewery
Champion Large New Zealand Brewery
Champion International Brewery
Champion Manufacturer


Entry Information

Information will be available soon on the entry details, style guidelines and key date time frames. 


Previous Years' Results

You can view the Catalogue of Results from previous years by clicking on the  following annual links:

2018, 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, 2011, 2010